Governor Branstad Visits CBiRC

Professor Jackie Shanks shares her research with Governor Terry Branstad – Oct. 2011

Following the groundbreaking ceremony for phase two of Iowa State University’s Biorenewables Research Complex, Iowa Governor Terry Branstad, Lt. Governor Kim Reynolds, State Representative Linda Upmeyer, Craig Lang, president of the Board of Regents and Bruce Rastetter, president pro tem of the Board of Regents toured the Biorenewables Research Laboratory.

CBiRC Administrative Offices Closed 12/23 through 1/2/2012

ANNOUNCEMENT:  CBiRC’s administrative offices will be closed  December 23, 2011, through January 2, 2012, in observance of Iowa State University’s official holidays and partial semester break closing.  During this time, deliveries by overnight courier will be suspended, and the 1140 BRL office suite at Iowa State University will remain locked.  Research groups housed in the building should plan accordingly.  Thank you, and happy holidays!

$12 Million Investment to Promote Clean Energy & Jobs

Obama Administration Announces $12 Million i6 Green Investment to Promote Clean Energy Innovation and Job Creation

WASHINGTON – The Obama Administration recently announced the six winners of the i6 Green Challenge, an initiative to drive technology commercialization and entrepreneurship in support of a green innovation economy, increased U.S. competitiveness and new jobs.

Projects in Florida, Iowa, Louisiana, Michigan, New England and Washington will each receive up to $1 million from the U.S. Commerce Department’s Economic Development Administration (EDA) and up to $6 million in additional … Read More >>

Jim Dumesic to receive NACS Award in March

The North American Catalysis Society congratulates three of our members that have been recognized with significant American Chemical Society National Awards for 2012. The award recipients are Dr. Thomas F. Degnan Jr, ExxonMobil, Professor James A. Dumesic University of Wisconsin, Madison, and Professor Enrique Iglesia, University of California, Berkeley. Dr. Degnan has been named as winner of the 2012 ACS Award in Industrial Chemistry sponsored by the ACS Division of Business Development & Management and the ACS Division of Industrial and Engineering Chemistry. Professor Dumesic has been named winner of the 2012 George A. Olah Award in Hydrocarbon or Petroleum Chemistry sponsored by the George A. Olah Award Endowment. Professor Iglesia has been named winner of the 2012 Gabor A. Somorjai Award for Creative Research in Catalysis sponsored by the Gabor A. and Judith K. Somorjai Endowment Fund. All three recipients will be honored at an Awards Ceremony on March 27, 2012 held in conjunction with the 243rd ACS National Meeting in San Diego, CA.

The CBiRC Team


2015 CBiRC Working Meeting at Iowa State University in Ames, Iowa